RSS Feed

Superhero Chocolates

Superhero Chocolates

I’ve been GEEKing out on these chocolates.

I found a silicone Batman ice cube tray at a local comic book store a couple months ago.

At the time, I couldn’t see past what it was…an ice cube tray. I used it to make Batman apple juice cubes for my almost-three-year-old. I thought it was a brilliant idea because he asked me for the “Batman Cubes” over the host of sweets in my pantry.

Then…I read a blog just before Easter about how to make chocolate bunnies out of chocolate chips. It seemed easy enough but I didn’t have any candy molds in my house…but wait…yes I did…I could use the Batman ice cube tray as a chocolate mold!! It was such a hit with my boy (and unexpectedly, a few grown adult men – more on this later) that I needed to explore the possibility that there might be other superhero “ice cube trays” out there. It turns out, there are! I found the website Entertainment Earth, which carried my Batman mold, a Superman mold, and a host of Star Wars molds too (but R2-D2 was out of stock last week – boo!). While writing today’s blog, I discovered Amazon.com sells them too (search for “Kotobukiya Silicone Tray”).

Now for the chocolate. I found soy-free, dairy-free, and nut-free chocolate chips that are REALLY GOOD and no one I’ve offered these too have noticed what’s missing: EnjoyLife Mini Chocolate Chips. Ingredients: Evaporated Cane Juice, Chocolate Liquor, Non-Dairy Cocoa Butter.

I really like the flavor of this chocolate and would buy this over any other brand even if I wasn’t allergic to soy and dairy (something I rarely say nowadays). To fill one tray, I put about a half-cup of chocolate chips into the microwave for about 60-90 seconds until they look a little wet.

Then mix it with a spoon until the chips are creamy and well blended.

Drop the chocolate into each symbol with a spoon. I put a layer of chocolate inside to cover the symbol, put a layer of marshmallows inside, and then cover them with another layer of chocolate. I may crumble some pretzels in there next time.

Put them in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes. If you are impatient like me, you’ll likely take them out too soon and end up with deformed superhero symbols. Fair warning.

Then peel them out of the molds. They are easy to take out because the trays bend nicely.

These chocolates have made me a SuperMom in my son’s eyes. What’s more, I’ve learned boys of all ages like Superhero chocolates. One friend asked me to freeze him a few chocolates for a visit we’ll have in a couple weeks. Another took me out to lunch. Maybe THIS should be my strategy for finding the man of my dreams: offer potential suitors Batman chocolates? Ha! And…”snort”.

In Wellness!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Kotobukiya Superheroes Logo Silicon Tray | Grace of Wrath

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

