RSS Feed

Milk and Soy-free Bread?

I can’t tell you how much time I’ve spent on this one. There are so many different brands of bread in the market, and label-reading was a chore. I’ve checked the labels until my eyes went cross-eyed, questioning if I needed glasses after reading the fine print. Unfortunately, I was not successful finding any breads in a traditional market. However, I did find some winners at the health food store (Lassen’s and Whole Foods). Beware — each of these fabulous finds falls apart very easily. You’ll want to eat your sandwiches gingerly.

Julian Bakery, "Wonderful" (soy free and dairy free)

Julian Bakery, "Wonderful-bread" (soy free and dairy free).

http://www.julianbakery.com/products/wonderful-bread/

Great Harvest Bread Co. "Honey Whole Wheat"

Great Harvest Bread Co. "Honey Whole Wheat". This is delicious bread! Soy-free and milk-free!

http://www.greatharvest.com/bread/bread.html

Of course, we could always make our breads from scratch? If only I had the time…and the desire…I’m so glad I don’t have to…

16 responses »

  1. We have soy allergies in our family too. That is why we have started Taylor Approved http://www.taylorapproved.com. We baked soy free bread and ship it fresh the day it is baked to your door. I know how frustrating it is to try and find good, healthy bread, and we hope to relieve that frustration for all families with soy allergies. I hope this will help some of you.:)

    Reply
  2. Helen Milchling

    Sorry to tell you whole food has changed their bread it now contains soy lecithin. I was in whole foods heartbroken last Saturday. I am going to check out your blog. Thank you so very much for doing this. I am allergic to milk,egg and soy

    Reply
  3. Whole foods 365 brand “Small batch white bread” is soy free. I am not sure if they are dairy free but that is the only bread that my son who has soy and nuts allergy can eat. Thanks for such a detailed blog. May God Bless!

    Reply
  4. Carolyn Hillis

    Christi, I just discovered your blog, and am enjoying it immensely. I am allergic to soy as well. It is one tough cookie to crack. That being said, be sure to check out the sourdough breads in the bakeries of your favorite grocery. A lot of them do not contain soy… The multigrain sourdough bread I buy at the supermarket (Publix) does not contain milk either, so maybe you can find something similar. It is also cheaper to buy than breads targeted for allergy sufferers as well.

    Reply
  5. I used to buy my bread at Great Harvest…there was a franchise right around the corner from my house in Nashville. The cinnamon rolls were TO DIE for! Great posts, Rena. Short, sweet and to the point. You are doing a wonderful service for so many! I’ll bet many of us have soy allergies who are totally unaware…..

    Reply
    • Oh wow. Cinnamon rolls. I’m salivating already.

      Thanks for the kind words about the blog, Christi! The last few weeks have been so eye opening when I discovered how many foods contain soy and how many beauty products contain soy. It’s pretty difficult to avoid soy – it’s everywhere! I’ll bet you’re right that many have soy allergies without even knowing it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

