RSS Feed

“No milk? No soy milk? Then what do you put in your cereal?!”

The first question people usually ask me when I share with them my food restrictions is, “No milk? No soy milk? Then what do you put in your cereal?!”

First of all — I had to find a cereal that contained no soy and no milk ingredients already – most processed foods contain those ingredients, but fortunately, most grocery stores will have a couple friendly options for us, like plain oatmeal and Shredded Wheat (the kind containing only one ingredient – wheat). I found Dorset Cereals at Whole Foods Market which is oat-based but also contains added nuts and/or dried fruit. Don’t forget – you may always add raisins, other dried fruit, or nuts to your plain cereal if you’re craving something sweet or nutty.

Shredded Wheat, Dorset Cereals, John McCann's Irish Oatmeal, Bob's Red Mill Thick Cut Oatmeal

Shredded Wheat, Dorset Cereals, John McCann's Irish Oatmeal, Bob's Red Mill Thick Cut Oatmeal

Next, what to put in the cereal? Soy milk and cow’s milk are obviously not healthy choices for us. I alternate between almond milk , rice milk, or hemp milk. They come sweetened or unsweetened and also come in vanilla or chocolate flavors. Hemp milk is a relatively new discovery for me. It has a grainy taste to it. If the “milk” I’m using is unsweetened, I’ll sweeten my cereal with raw stevia. Don’t expect any of these choices to taste like cows milk!! It will definitely be a new taste, and to me, I’m happy to just be able to eat cereal again.

Rice milk, hemp milk, and almond milk

Rice milk, hemp milk, and almond milk - I don't really taste a difference between competing brands. I'll buy whatever is cheapest at the store.

3 responses »

  1. Nicolas Vanolinda

    There has been some controversy over protein milk which says that it contains phytoestrogens which can affect the human body. ”

    Our online site
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/melatonin-dosage/

    Reply
  2. honey nut cheerios n regular cheerios… no soy or dairy

    Reply
    • Hi Adi — One of the ingredients in Cheerios is Vitamin E (Mixed Tocopherols). Vitamin E is often made from soy, so I wonder if the Vitamin E is a soy-free ingredient in Cheerios. I suppose one way to find out is to try it and see if an allergic reaction ensues…However, I wouldn’t risk it if the soy allergy is severe.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: