RSS Feed

Chocolate brownies? Hot cocoa? Yes, please!

I’m taking a break from my fast food rants to talk about my favorite subject: chocolate. I’ve missed chocolate. Chocolate is made with milk, and if not milk then soy, or perhaps it’s made with both of those ingredients. What ‘s a girl to do?!

Introducing…100% cocoa!

Homemade soy and milk-free brownies, using 100% cocoa

Homemade soy and milk-free brownie, using 100% cocoa Served with Vanilla Hemp Ice Cream

I made this mildly sweet and satisfying soy and milk-free brownie tonight following the recipe on the jar of Wondercocoa brand of cocoa.

Wondercocoa

Wondercocoa - 100% cocoa beans

I found Wondercocoa at Whole Foods and Trader Joes. Today I noticed that you may buy 100% cocoa at your mainstream market in the baking aisle. They are each fat free, sugar free, and nearly caffeine free (Wondercocoa claims it’s 99.7% caffeine-free).

Hershey's and Kroger 100% Cocoa

Hershey's and Kroger 100% Cocoa

I used the 100% cocoa powder to make the BEST hot chocolate. I mixed 1 scoop of cocoa powder with vanilla almond milk, and put in one packet of stevia sweetener. Super-low calorie, low sugar, low fat, and tastes to me just like the fully-loaded-with-sugar-and-milk hot chocolate. The first day I tried this I couldn’t get enough and had 3 creamy and steamy cups. Unfortunately, I just discovered I’m allergic to almonds (sigh – really??). So I tried this again with rice milk, and it was satisfying (though not nearly as addictive as it is with vanilla almond milk).

A note about the first picture. I served the brownies with Vanilla Hemp Ice Cream. If you taste it expecting to experience the cow’s milk ice cream we all know and love, you will be sadly disappointed. However, it is still creamy, cold, and mildly sweet. I used Tempt brand hemp ice cream, and the flavors include chocolate fudge, mint chip, and vanilla bean.

Tempt Hemp Ice Cream

Tempt Hemp Ice Cream - Chocolate Fudge, Mint Chip, and Vanilla Bean

Note: I just stepped away from my computer — my toddler asked for a second brownie helping. I guess he likes it too! He let me take a picture as evidence.

Mmm. Brownies!

3 responses »

  1. I just discovered your blog via Twitter, i’m so glad I found another soy-free blog! I’m allergic to soy and lactose intolerant so I know your pain. I’m constantly coming up with dessert recipes so I don’t feel like I’m ever missing out. Have you tried the Enjoy Life chocolate chips? They are dairy, soy and nut free, so I think they might be a good fit for you! They taste delicious like regular chocolate! I usually put them in my protein pancake recipes 🙂 That is a shame that you are allergic to almonds too! Right now I’m trying to limit my almond intake because of the high omega 6, so I’m experimenting with using all coconut flour and chia seeds in my recipes rather than the almond flour. I look forward to reading more of your posts!

    Reply
    • Hi Amber! Thanks so much for connecting! I see I am in good company :o) I have not tried Enjoy Life chocolate chips…or coconut flour, for that matter. I didn’t know there was such a thing as coconut flour. Thanks so much for the tips! I’ll be sure to try them out and let you know how I like them.

      Reply
  2. 🙂 LOVE IT

    Reply

Leave a Reply

