RSS Feed

I’ve Been Cheating (A Little)

Yes, that’s right. I’ve been eating foods that I should not be eating. Allergic-reaction free. How?! My doc gave me some pretty heavy duty meds (prednisone, if you must know) for my laryngitis last week. This medication is often prescribed to those with serious allergies…and I discovered after about half the bottle was consumed all my allergies went away.

It was like being given permission to cheat.

Before you get carried away with assumptions about the way I ate, you must know, I didn’t cheat THAT big. I didn’t outright order anything milky, cheesy, or soy-filled. Truly! One would expect that I would binge on all my favorites: vanilla bean ice cream, Burrito Supreme, edamame, sushi with soy sauce, sausage supreme pizza, and chocolate milk. I actually had plenty of opportunities…I was traveling on business and eating out on the company dime provided me with plenty of temptation.

Instead, I cheated on things that would normally give me milder reactions, like bread, salad dressings, or chocolate (each made with soy/dairy). No, please, I’m not fishing for a medal for making such unnecessary sacrifices. In fact, I’m writing about this today a little perplexed why I didn’t cheat bigger and more often during those 5 symptom-free days. Three months ago when I discovered my allergy to soy I would have done anything to go back to eating the way I was without the consequences. And here I was, with a free ticket to do so, and I didn’t really take it.

So…why? My brain is newly wired! I can’t help but read labels, ask questions, and find alternatives to the foods I’m offered. I am challenged to find a soy and dairy free meal and am satisfied when I do. I have a new respect for my body and I want to take care of it. Plus, to be symptom free for several days in a row was GLORIOUS and I didn’t want to risk messing it up with a big bowl of fettucini Alfredo.

One might think…maybe Rena should go on those meds more often. NO WAY! That stuff messed up my stomach and I gained about 5 pounds in water retention and bloat. No thank you. The meds are leaving my system now and I see I need to go back to being extra careful.

What’s the moral of the story? I guess it was just nice to discover about myself that my cravings for what I’ve been missing weren’t as strong as I thought they were. Given the opportunity to cheat in a big way, I chose to cheat relatively small. There’s something powerful knowing this about myself. It might even help get me through when I’m offered a cream puff or a cheesy hors d’oeuvre.

Oh who am I kidding?!

In Wellness!

Leave a Reply

