RSS Feed

A Simple Chicken, Kale, and Orange Salad (Soy and Milk-Free)

I have been salad-deprived. Mainly because I haven’t been to the market in way-too-long and so I’ve been eating out a lot more than usual. Salad dressings in restaurants usually contain dairy and/or soy, and I am not one to eat a salad without dressing…so, I order other things.

I finally made time to go to Whole Foods Market. I was happy to discover that Whole Foods sells warm baked whole chicken dressed with allergen-free seasoning or no seasoning at all. Today I bought a whole chicken that was only seasoned with sea salt and pepper. I decided that I would use my own Rena-safe seasonings to spice up the chicken when I got home.

Actually, I cheated. I made this kale, chicken, and orange slices salad with some Trader Giatto’s Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing. It is my favorite and I call it my “crack” dressing since I can’t get enough of it, and it’s made with canola oil instead of soybean oil.

A simple salad…in a pretty bowl. What would have made this salad perfect is if I had crumbled up some graham cracker sticks (instead of croutons). They taste so good with the vinaigrette and kale! I would have added some this time but I had just eaten a small bagful of them on my way home from the market (I was starving), so I didn’t want the extra calories by adding more to the salad. Here’s the brand I use: Back to Nature Honey Graham Sticks, which are soy and milk-free.

Back to Nature Honey Graham Sticks

Back to Nature Honey Graham Sticks: soy and milk-free

Even without the graham sticks it was a delicious salad. I feel healthier already.

Leave a Reply

