RSS Feed

Les Miserables Spoof, Just For Us

As a musical theater lover and someone striving to enjoy alternative-to-mainstream foods due to allergies, I must say, I LOVE THIS PARODY! Do yourself a favor and watch this video on YouTube for a good laugh.

The following song, “One Grain More,” is a parody of, “One Day More,” from Les Miserables.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9QbC41oQRo

*******************

“The Les Misérables food allergy parody that will knock your hypoallergenic socks off! When Marius, Cosette, and Epipen are invited to an allergy-friendly party at the house of Jean Valjean, each must create a dish absent of all possible allergens.”

LYRICS

VALJEAN
One grain more
A dash of millet flour might be the key
This never-ending road to gluten free
This horrifying food I eat
Will never taste the same as wheat
One grain more…

COSETTE
A quarter cup of cornflake crumbs
To meet my carbohydrate quota

VALJEAN
One grain more

MARIUS & COSETTE
A teaspoon of some xanthan gum
And still it tastes like…baking soda

EPIPEN
One more dairy substitute

MARIUS & COSETTE
Will I ever eat again?

EPIPEN
Drinking oat milk from a carton

MARIUS & COSETTE
What I’d give for pizza pie

EPIPEN
Now I spend my days confused

MARIUS & COSETTE
Or a slice of beef on rye…

EPIPEN
Wond’ring how you milk an oat

VALJEAN
It’s so good to see you, Quinoa!
You’re the protein source I chose
Still, you look as if I’ve seen ya
Coming out of someone’s nose

MARIUS & COSETTE
Flax instead of eggs
Try to make it whip
Now what do we use
Instead of chocolate chips?
Carob doesn’t work
Carob is a trap
Anyone who’s had it
Knows it tastes like crap!

VALJEAN & EPIPEN
When the hell is this stuff dated?

MARIUS & COSETTE
Burned and bloated day and night

VALJEAN & EPIPEN
Why’s it smell like something died?

COSETTE
What on earth is “lecithin”?

MARIUS
Love, I fin’ly defecated!

EPIPEN
This does not feel like a bun…

ALL
Do you hear the people sneeze
And cough and wheeze
From allergies?

VALJEAN
One grain more!

MARIUS
(simul)
So I added wheat — I’m sorry
We still had some left in stock
Nothing says “it’s time to party”
Like anaphylactic shock
So I guess this must be Quinoi
It’s not so gross, I suppose
Still it looks as if I’ve seen ya…

COSETTE
(simul)
Will I ever eat again?
What if there’s a trace of tree nuts?
Someone get my Epi-pen
I’m not supposed to breathe in peanuts!

EPIPEN
(simul)
Have you ever milked an oat?
Guess it’s better than a goat
Try a little nog
Smoother than a silk
Even though it’s made
Of neither eggs nor milk!
Have another roll
Harder than a rock
Better hold your breath,
Because it tastes like-

VALJEAN & MARIUS
Tomorrow we will bitch and moan
Tomorrow we’ll need cortisone

ALL
Tomorrow we’ll discover foods
That even vegans have forsworn!
Wish me luck
Mother(BLEEEEEEEEEP)
One grain more…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9QbC41oQRo

Leave a Reply

