RSS Feed

CeraVe Skincare Line is Soy-Free/Easily Make Your Own Liquid Foundation Using Mineral Makeup

CeraVe Skin Care Line

All CeraVe skin care products are soy free. Shown are Moisturizing Cream, Hydrating Cleanser, Moisturizing Lotion, and Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM.

CeraVe Skincare Line is Soy-Free

I have been looking for more affordable versions of two excellent soy-free skin care products from Dermalogica (Ultracalming Cleanser and Active Moist; see my skincare and makeup post). I love those products, but my wallet does not.

Imagine my glee as I discovered CeraVe skin care products while shopping at Target earlier this summer. At the time, there were four products available (see the picture above). While writing this blog today, I discovered three more products on the CeraVe website I will be sure to check out. I’ve tried each of the products in the picture above and I have discovered them to be wonderfully gentle…and they are soy-free (I verified this with the company, directly)!  Can you hear the angels singing?!  As of today, the CeraVe line includes:

CeraVe Moisturizing Cream

CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion

CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM (with SPF 30)

CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM

CeraVe Renewing Lotion

CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser

CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser

These products may also be found at CVS and Walgreen. The CeraVe website has a store locator, in case you need it.

Of the seven products CeraVe currently has on the market, I have been primarily using the CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser and CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion for the last 3 months. My skin never feels irritated or greasy after using the products – in fact, it often feels calmer and moisture-balanced. The cleanser is creamy and it doesn’t lather. It removes makeup really well! I keep one bottle in the shower as my primary soap and one by the sink for my face. It is quite gentle and may be rubbed into the skin with your hand/fingers, but I find occasionally I need to use the cleanser with a washcloth or sponge to remove deodorant or dirtier skin.

Note: As a reminder,  you’ll find the ingredient, “tocopherol” in nearly every skin care and makeup product on the market. Tocopherol (Vitamin E) is usually derived from soybeans, but not always. The best way to know for sure your skin care or cosmetic product is soy-free is to contact the company directly through their website by phone or email.

Easily Make Your Own Liquid Foundation Using Mineral Makeup

On a related tangent, I have been having a terrible time looking for soy-free foundation that I’m happy with. Bare Essentials Bare Minerals and Laura Mercier Mineral makeup are soy-free but application of the powder seemed to make my crows feet look more pronounced and didn’t cover my dark circles very well. I used to fix this problem by dabbing liquid foundation under my eyes and then applying the mineral makeup to the rest of my face. Unfortunately, the liquid foundation reacted terribly to my skin (it wasn’t soy free) and it made my eyes water. BUT!  Last week, I discovered by accident that I can make my own liquid foundation out of the CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion and mineral makeup. I just sprinkle the amount of mineral makeup I’d normally use into my hand and pump a small dollop of the moisturizer on top. I mix them with my finger. The result is an incredibly light and creamy foundation that I have been very, very happy with. Add more powder to the mixture for more coverage of problem areas or use less powder for lighter coverage (essentially, a tinted moisturizer). My quest to find soy-free foundation has finally come to an end.

I haven’t tried this with other moisturizers, but I suspect the result will be similar. Let me know how you like it!

In wellness!

11 responses »

  1. Green Monger (@TheGreenMonger)

    When you spoke to CeraVe about their products… did they specify with the glycerine, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, and the parabens are derived from? You would be surprised how many companies have NO clue how many soy derived products there are out there.

    Reply
  2. wow! I am on my way to the allergist tomorrow with similar skin issues that I’ve been dealing with ALL summer long! I think it is a result of a new deep conditioner with Soy Oil in it that I started using in June….dermatologist told me to use Cetaphil and the moisturizer actually burns/heats up on my face and neck when I use it. Just looked at the ingredients and say the Tocopherol acetate in it! Thank goodness I had some Cerave in my cabinet, it felt much better going on. Here’s hoping the allergist confirms something tomorrow, I can take the itching and the rash and the eczema much longer…it’s been two months of horrible dry, cracking, flaking skin all over my face and neck. I need relief. I really love your blog!

    Reply
  3. I know this post is a year old, but thought id just share that all Acure products are soy free and gluten free. They are sold at Whole Foods, but the online shop has way more products than whole foods carries, including scrubs and masques. I called the company today to confirm. I went through a similar thing with soy where I stopped eating it due to allergy, but didn’t realize it was in all of my beauty products! Happy shopping!

    Reply
  4. Thank you so much for this website!!!! I have the same allergies/sensitivities and I have felt crazy because it is has been hard to pinpoint and the list of ingredients I can and cannot have is to long to memorize.

    This website has brought me hope. Please keep on writing.

    Reply
    • You’re welcome, Katrina! It’s been quite a while since my last post – mainly because I am feeling better. I have a few ideas I’ve been mulling over…hopefully you’ll see a new post soon. Thanks for writing, Katrina!

      Reply
  5. Is CeraVe truly soy free? One of the ingredients is xanthan gum which can be made from soy!

    Reply
  6. Thank you for writing this blog! I found out that I’m allergic to soy about a year ago… and since I hate skin care/beauty products to begin with (I’m a recovering tomboy easily overwhelmed by the makeup aisle), I’ve had serious trouble finding lotions/concealer that helps.
    Definitely asking for some CeraVe products to be put in my Christmas stocking (and those BIC razors, too). Thank you! Such a huge help.

    Reply
  7. LOVE your carefree giddiness! So much so that I even want to try it–and I’m not allergic! Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

